Caught Between Two Pieces of Wisdom and a Promise

Posted: March 12, 2012 in Inkspots, Musings
Tags: , , ,

It is not the critic who counts: not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles or where the doer of deeds could have done better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood, who strives valiantly, who errs and comes up short again and again, because there is no effort without error or shortcoming, but who knows the great enthusiasms, the great devotions, who spends himself for a worthy cause; who, at the best, knows, in the end, the triumph of high achievement, and who, at the worst, if he fails, at least he fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who knew neither victory nor defeat.” ~Theodore Roosevelt

This quote hangs on my wall in  an amazing scarlet calligraphy piece of art.  The brushstrokes are as bold as the words, and the words ‘dust, sweat, and blood’ are slightly larger than the rest of the text. So are the words ‘victory’ and ‘defeat’. I bought it when it was on sale for 50% off in a store called “Oh My Word” when they were going out of business and moving from a brick-and-mortar store to an online only venue. I really miss the store, but I cherish my word-art.  It’s been a reminder today, that even though I didn’t get a single word down and I’m irritated with myself and at the day, that the struggle I am in has value in and of itself.

There is another quote that hangs on my wall, done on vellum and inked in the classical ways with powdered pigments made of pulverized semi-precious stones.  It reads:

Courage does not always roar. Sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying ‘I will try again tomorrow’. ~
Mary Ann Radmacher
 

Those two are fantastic, but the promise I came upon today is the anchor for my soul. Those mooring buoys are nice, but this is what will let me go to bed in peace and try again with all my might, tomorrow. 

 And I am sure of this, that He who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ.” Philippians 1:6 ESV

What about you?  What are your mooring buoys? What’s your anchor when discouragement and disheartening days steal away your joy of working with words?

Comments
  1. Gee says:

    I am encouraged by Blaise Pascal’s observation that, if reeds, we are, at least, reeds that think.

Be brilliant, be peculiar, be peculiarly brilliant.

