A Gathering of Scribes

Posted: March 13, 2012 in Inkspots
Tags: , ,

Over a year ago, I started a writer’s group online. It’s turned out to be a whole lot of work, a whole lot of fun, and an amazing mix of talent and encouragement. It is strange in a way, to think that I’ve only known the other Scribes for a year. Just a year!  I feel like I’ve known them since forever.  They challenge me (sometimes even to duels) and demand that I write, and not quit. Not ever.

One has started their own publishing company

Two are artists as well as writers and regularly do commission work.

A vibrant fistful are published in magazines and in anthologies

A pair are self-publishing and setting their own pace in the e-book world

And the rest, they are just on the cusp of adventure and amazement in print.

It’s like hanging out with a pride of lions, or a sending of dragons.  Strength seconds strength, and power is there for those who are weakened. Every time I think of giving up, I find a note, or a question from one of them and I laugh. Their reaching out to me is no coincidence. The timing is too perfect.

I do believe the Author and Finisher of my faith is delighted with them as I am.  I believe firmly that He has plunked me down in their midst and made me a place among those of my own kind.  After all, He delights in setting the solitary in families (Psalm 68:6) and there is nothing more comforting for a writer to know that they are among their own tribe.

Of them, this is abundantly true:

Oh, the comfort —
the inexpressible comfort of feeling safe with a person —
having neither to weigh thoughts nor measure words,
but pouring them all right out,
just as they are,
chaff and grain together;
certain that a faithful hand will take and sift them,
keep what is worth keeping,
and then with the breath of kindness blow the rest away.
~Dinah Craik

I count myself double-blessed, to have Jesus, and to have them.

Comments
  1. H. A. Titus says:

    I’m also blessed to be one of the Scribes, Michelle. I love the challenges, the encouragement, and sometimes the plain silliness. Thanks for starting the group and taking such good care of us. 🙂

  2. The Scribes have been SUCH a blessing to me, and you no less, Michelle! This group is not only a place where imagination thrives, but a place where we can take our burdens, distresses, prayer requests and bad days and have complete confidence that people will be praying and seeking to help. That’s not the average group! 🙂 Thanks so much for beginning us on this journey of friendship!! 🙂

  3. Emily Bradburn says:

    We are blessed to have you in our lives, Ms. Black. Without you, there would be no Scribes. 😀 ❤

    • Ah, you Scribes would be there, you’d just be scattered, that’s all. 😉 Now that we’re brought together, well, you feel that? The way the ground is shaking? That’s the tremor of amazing stories being unleashed and strength adding to strength.

Be brilliant, be peculiar, be peculiarly brilliant.

