An Inner-heard Conversation

Posted: March 15, 2012 in Scribe Scribbles
Tags: , , , ,

I’m excited! Though I’m not exactly sure how many words I wrote today (because I wound up deleting quite a bit) and while I was hoping to be further along with this particular project, I’m still kind of giddy. Why? Well even though I lost a considerable chunk of what I’d written, I was able to get my ‘editor’ brain and ‘writer’ brain to sit down and have tea. I wasn’t tearing myself apart while writing. I wasn’t just rambling on either. It kinda went something like this:

Writer Brain: *Ha* this is so cool, ooh look I’m being clever with the speaker tag there. Aha, foreshadowing, yes yes that works and of course she’d call him jabber-jaw. Why, that’s what everyone calls him and it’s a cute endearment. Aww he kissed her on the bridge of the nose whilst misdirecting the attention of the guard .. .woo. ..I am on a roll today . ..

EDITOR BRAIN: I say, you are indeed plowing right along there. Well done.

Writer Brain: I know! Look! Nearly 900 words and I’m not really into the conflict yet. 

EDITOR BRAIN: Oh, dear. No no, my dear lady. That will never do. No, indeed. And whilst I love what you did there with the roses, this is a scene not a novel. Might I suggest taking that out and going straight over to the fireplace?

Writer Brain: But, then I lose the cute kiss on the bridge of the nose and  the clever misdirection and foreshadowing with the rose.

EDITOR BRAIN: It is very true. You are one hundred percent correct.  However, you have a limited space to be amazing, and remember, bring the conflict in early. You might even want to have them have this conversation with them lighting the fire and getting the flapjacks cooking. Remember, bring them in right before the crisis. And my dear, you are writing exceptionally well. Tea?

Writer Brain: You really think I should bring the conflict in harder? And yes please. May I have two lumps of sugar?

EDITOR BRAIN: Indeed you may. Also, I think that you should know, I have an idea of why the kitchen staff was taken out. It would make so much more sense to have it do with trying to kill off the kings heir through poison. But the reader is smart and they’ll work that out on their own.  You needn’t give them too many clews.

Writer Brain: Okay, well if I cut the scene with the roses, and the whole foreshadowing there because like you said it’s the scene and not the novel, then I can send the one character over to the fireplace and have them figure it out from there? From the ashes being what, too cold? Something in the ashes? Help me here. I’m kinda stymied ::sips tea:: Oh, this is very good. English Breakfast?

EDITOR BRAIN: It’s Earl Gray, and you’re welcome.  I’m thinking, my dear lady, that you need to really tighten that bit about the female guard. That’s good, that adds some tension to the relationship between the characters. And I liked what you did with hampering the fellow about telling the truth, that’s really going to turn into a nice handicap there. Don’t forget the bit about the flour and water making paste, also a nice touch.  As to the fire/hearth perhaps they could find that there was something that stunk like what stunk on the roses? Showing whatever was outside in the garden and foul, made it to the fireplace? That would show poisoning, not food sickness. And then you can start bringing the others in.  That is brilliant, you are doing just wonderful, you do know that, don’t you? Now, right now I want you to stop, save, and save under a different file name just in case we need to go back to the original.

Writer Brain: Good idea. There. Saved. Not as much as I wanted to get done, but much better than I thought I’d get. Oh, do you mind if I ask you a question?

EDITOR BRAIN: ::chuckles:: You just did, but go on, ask your question. Then I need to get to the tube before there’s a queue.

Writer Brain: Why are you talking in a quasi-British accent, and why do you sound like Patrick Stewart?

EDITOR BRAIN: Apparently you, and George Lucas, equate the crisp British accent with authority and order which is why all of the Imperial Officers are Brits.  And I sound like Patrick Stewart because I can get your attention this way.  Now, if you will excuse me, I have to get going. If you have more questions don’t hesitate to ring me on my mobile. You have the number, don’t you love? Brilliant.

Yeah. It was a real productive day. I just wish I knew where my Editor Brain was going. Maybe I’ll get a post card from it.

Cheers.

😉

Comments
  1. Elle says:

    This was a delightful read! I’ve been thinking the conflict in my head was cause to worry, but now I see that it’s normal – I just need to work on controlling it. Thanks! By the way, I love the honesty and personality. Great, great, great!

    • No, no the conflict in your head is no cause to worry. For a writer, it’s normal. 😉

      Though the departure of one of the two might be. I still haven’t gotten a postcard or call from good ole’ E. Brain. Ah well, if you see it, would you let it know, I don’t have the right mobile number? Thanks!

  2. Oh, Perfect! 🙂 🙂 🙂 I love this! I think that next time I call a client as their editor I’m going to talk in a British accent. 🙂

  3. 🙂 Maybe someday I shall call you and use a British accent! 🙂

Be brilliant, be peculiar, be peculiarly brilliant.

