Beautiful People? Not really but they’re my resident “character couple” Part 2

Posted: March 29, 2012 in Inkspots

 

(For this part, they’re going to be answering directly. Apparently I didn’t do them “justice” in the first part.)

 

 

1. How did they meet?

Michaeli’ina: He was in my way, and I decided the best way to get him out of the way, would be to set him on fire and let him burn to ash.

Valentine: I was working on finding a certain book for a really nice fellow, who needed it to see that his son wasn’t well, maimed by a group that wanted this tome. Moldy old things, books. So, I was there, in the Archive and working on hunting down this thing for him (while avoiding some guards because technically the Archive isn’t open to the public) and this great red dragon winged girl hisses at me as she drops down from the rafters and then the ground where I was, is on fire and so is one of the bookshelves. I told her “Paper and fire are a really bad idea” and she growls like a beast “I wasn’t aiming for the books you handsome, erudite fellow, I was aiming for you.” I politely pointed out that the shelf being on fire was going to activate the fire suppression system but before I could get the words out, we were both covered in fire retardant foam. She blinked at me, these two dark eyes in the middle of all that mess, and I thought “Hey, you know what, she’s got spunk. And I need to move before she tries to set me on fire again.”

2. How do these two deal with conflict?

Michaeli’ina :  You mean conflict with Vosh? Usually I try to set him on fire if he isn’t listening. If that doesn’t work, and it usually doesn’t, then I have to resort to using words which is hard because I get 100 of them together to express my thought and he has 1000 of them ready to counter. It’s like  being  out manned and out gunned and out witted all at once. I don’t enjoy arguing with him.  But I’m not going to let him tell me what to do either.  Well, not unless it’s a situation where I’m about to get killed or he’s about to get maimed. I’m the only one allowed to maim him.

Valentine: With Michaeli’ina  conflict is a delicate dance between getting scorched and listening. She’s finally using words instead of actions and it’s easy for me to outpace her with  thoughts. She can be so stubborn and irritating and she thinks so fatalistically, but at the same time she has a heart large enough to hide a sun inside. I wish she understood, I don’t want to hurt her. It’s not intentional.  She’s just so stubborn and won’t listen to me even though I’ve proven that I’m not out to get her, time and time again. It’s frustrating.

3. Do they have a special song, phrase, item, or place?

Michaeli’ina:  I have Vosh’ signant ring, and that’s rather special to me. I wear it on a leather cord around my neck, under my tunic where my keeping bag would be. Not real original, but that’s what I have of his.   I tell him all the time, “If you get yourself killed, I’m going to murder you. You made me care, now don’t you dare die.”

Valentine:  I wear her keeping bag under my tunic with the cord around my neck. In it is everything in the world that she can not live without. An image of her father is in there, a strange looking key, two coins that are fused together, a lock of hair, and the first present I ever bought her, a clip for her hair. These are her most precious treasures, and she gave them to me.  She said, I am greater than their sum in her eyes. I know, I know, I’m a blessed fellow and I can’t mess this up. Well I can and I do on a rather regular basis but, I don’t want to.

I always remind her, “Alive or dead, on this side of eternity or the other, I love you.”

4. What kind of things do they like to do together?

Michaeli’ina: Like to do together? Survive whoever we’ve managed to get on the wrong side of at the moment. Sometimes it’s nice to help people, I don’t mind taking some remuneration for that but Valentine usually makes me give it back. If it were up to him, we’d starve. Or eat only what he can take down with his bow and catch in the wild.

Valentine: Have adventures. There’s nothing more exciting than taking on a job together, knowing we’re really helping someone. And if we can get closer to finding out who ruined Michaeli’ina’s family, well that’s a bonus. Amazing how the two seem to go together.

5. Describe their relationship as a whole in 3 words, or less.

Michaeli’ina: HA he’ll never be able to do that. “Slowly becoming family” there. Let’s see Jabber Jaw do better than that!

Valentine: “Happily Ever After”

Michaeli’ina: That’s CHEATING!

Valentine: No it isn’t, it’s the truth.
And I’m going to stop them there, because it’s either going to get mushy, OR she’s going to set him on fire.  One of the two.

Have a go at it Scribes, it’s tons of fun. And remember, this all started with The Shield Maiden!

Encourage one another Scribes!

Comments
  1. Mirriam says:

    AAAWWWW, Vosh got mushy there at the end! Eristor wants to interject something here, hang on.
    “Idiot.”
    Oh.
    Okay, then. He likes Mich, though.

Be brilliant, be peculiar, be peculiarly brilliant.

