Encourage One Another Scribes.

Posted: March 31, 2012 in Musings
Tags: , ,

This post is going to be a short one, mainly because my eyes feel like someone plucked them out with hot tongs and replaced them with fishing weights.

I am exhausted.

I have so much to get done and not enough  time to do it in. I really didn’t have time to go and see my coworker Andy in his play tonight, The Promise, and I groaned and moaned the entire afternoon. But I had promised and I wasn’t going to welsh.  My heart attitude wasn’t good as I headed out the door with Mom to see the play though.

I got only three hours of sleep last night, had a long day at work, and was not quite done a project sponsored by the Order of the Dented Greave  for Wayne Thomas Batson. There was a ‘critical failure’ yesterday which put me behind today, but that’s kinda par for the course. I wasn’t too badly thrown by that, something usually goes horribly, horribly wrong when I’m working on a project.  I was thrown by not getting enough sleep last night. I really started feeling the crash around 2:30 as I was getting ready to leave work. I got home, and felt worse.

Then, one of the tickets disappeared. It’s a sign, I thought to myself A sign that God doesn’t want me to go to the play but after some prayer and real digging, Mom found the ticket and we were off.  Even after drinking a cafe mocha I was nodding off on the way to the church and when we were in the sanctuary and they dimmed the lights I prayed Please Lord, don’t let me fall asleep. I’m here to encourage Andy! But I’m so tired. . . and I have so much to do!

There wasn’t an audible response, and the fatigue didn’t just drop away, but I was able to concentrate on the play (which was a minor victory because when I read the front cover of the play-bill, it didn’t make sense. Mom says she was starting to get worried about me at that point–sleep deprivation, it is a many splendor-ed thing)  and found the Lord encouraging me  through it.  I left it with a greater appreciation for Andy as an actor, and a greater appreciation for Jesus, as an encourager.  Check out the definition of the word, you might be surprised.

Encourage:

1. To inspire with hope, courage, or confidence; hearten. 2. To give support to; foster: 3.To stimulate; spur

I was given heart, I was spurred onward, and I was buoyed up by support tonight, even as I sought to do the same for another. Funny, (but not really) how that works.

So, Encourage one another Scribes.

 

Comments
  1. Galadriel says:

    That’s great that God spoke to you through something you weren’t expecting to enjoy.

Be brilliant, be peculiar, be peculiarly brilliant.

