If My People Who Are Called By My Name

Posted: May 3, 2012 in Inkspots
Tags: , , ,

Will HUMBLE themselves and PRAY and SEEK MY FACE and TURN FROM THEIR WICKED WAYS then I will hear from heaven, and I will FORGIVE THEIR SIN  and  HEAL THEIR LAND.

Second Chronicles 7:14 ESV

Today is the National Day of Prayer, which has been called on the first Thursday of May for 60 years. However you choose to take part today, remember according to Scripture we are to:

Choke our pride, and admit that we corporately and individually are wrong, we have set ourselves up as knowing more than Yahweh.

Ouch. Say OUCH with me if you’re convicted.

Pray. All the time. Without ceasing. Without malice. Without envy. Without pride.

Ouch.

Seek His face and not His hands. We are to desire Jesus, just for His being who He is.  That’s when we (I’m using the royal we here) really will know Him.

Ouch.

Turn from our wicked ways.  This is what is meant by ‘repent’ to turn away from the sin, and walk the other way. Oh, it sounds so easy, but without His help there is just no way that I can do this.  Usually, He has to grab me by both hands and haul pretty hard away from the sin.

This is a corporate command as well as an individual one. You can find some pretty stinging charges  to a nation in Deut. 27: 15-20, especially these:

Cursed be anyone who dishonors his mother or father

Cursed be anyone who moves his neighbors land mark (steals land)

Cursed be anyone who perverts justice to the sojourner (immigrant), the widow, or the fatherless.

Cursed be anyone who takes a bribe to shed innocent blood

I can think of thousands of ways that my nation, this nation, does these daily.
I am responsible for my nation, because I am part of the government. Their curse, is my curse as a citizen.   Yes this Scripture comes from the Old Testament, but, that doesn’t change anything. It’s still Scripture, and it is still ‘in play’ as it were.

Yes, I am redeemed in Christ Jesus. Yes, I am made new by Yahweh’s grace, yes I am spotless and without blemish.  But that’s me, individually.

Right now, because my nation is under cursing and judgement and I live in it (I’m not a separate free wheeling agent in a soap-bubble disconnected from it) then I am also corporately under judgement with my neighbors.

Nations aren’t eternal, they are judged differently than people.  Nations are judged *now*.

When we come together with other believers, and intercede for our  nation (as well as actively participating in getting laws struck down or changed that do these things)  we can stop it from sinning. We can help to ‘turn it from its wicked ways’.

I will hear from Heaven

If we do these things for  our country, then the corporate plea for His mercy will be heard.

There’s a reason that He looked through history and decided that this time and this country is where I would be rooted. And if The United States of America, is your country then this is where you are rooted too, and there’s a reason for that.

We are ( standing in Christ) to act as one who mediates between two parties.  We are to plead with our Abba for mercy for our nation, just like Abraham, a friend of God, pleaded with Him for mercy for Sodom and Gomorrah.  We are to do the same thing.

I will forgive their sin

Oh, to have the judgement for the United States of America taken away. What a thought!  What a sweetness. This then is the goal, and it is only reachable working in our communities, and praying whenever and where ever His Spirit directs.

This nation is a gift from Yahweh.  There is no other like it on earth. There is none other like it in history.  What is wrong with it is the same thing that is wrong with every other nation. It has exalted itself into the place that God alone holds. But while there are those that love Him, and it, there is hope.  True, it is not my home, but He put me here at just this time, in just this place, for a reason.  I’m to care for it, I’m to love it, and I’m to change its course when it wobbles out of where it needs to be.

I can hear you chuckling.

What can one person do to change the course of a nation?

Ah, but see I’m not one person. I’m one person whom Yahweh  loves. Big difference.  I have Him, and He has me.

Just like Deborah did
Just like Jael did
Just like David did
Just like Hezekiah did
Just like Nehemiah did
Just like Dorcas did
Just like Phoebe did
Just like Lydia did
Just like Timothy did
Just like Paul did

So it’s not all about me, but it is all about The United States, and it is all about  Him.

And heal their land.

Oh, to see this nation healed; healed of violence, healed of corruption, healed of hate, healed  of  pain, healed of all the things that afflict it and its people, on a daily basis.

It’s a good and godly goal.  And I have from this  first Thursday in May, to the next first Thursday to pray, and to seek, and work to see this promise come to pass.

Amen, Lord Jesus. Please, let it be so.

Be brilliant, be peculiar, be peculiarly brilliant.

