Books! Books! Books! (You’re going to want to buy copies)

Posted: May 4, 2012 in Inkspots, Not To Be Missed Books
Tags: , , ,

Scribes have  asked, and now, this Scribe is  answering!

Before you call the Better Blogger Business Bureau (BBBB) and cry foul for  this post doesn’t match the heading, wait a moment please and thank you.

I am going to introduce you to some of my most precious books on the mechanics of writing.  It’s like a  gold miner telling you where they found a vein of that precious metal. It almost hurts to share these secrets with you, but I am. So sit tight.

I’m going to answer some questions first.

What’s with all the soul stuff this week
?

Um, I’m a soul in an earth suit. It’s been a rough week so the soul’s shown a little more than usual.

Hey, when are you getting to the other parts of Mirriam Neal’s list?!

Cool! This means that you actually LISTENED to me and went back and read her posted list.  Tomorrow. Well, actually, later today. Oooh, a double-post day. Can you stand the excitement?

Are you going to talk about CBA verses ABA like some  other writers are?

For right now, I’m not going to blog about it, but you’re welcome to follow my thoughts on Chila Woychik blog. Why? Well because it’s true that it’s “Better to be thought a fool than open your mouth and remove all doubt.”

Five majillion points of the internet to the person who knows that quote and tells me in the comments here.

Now, onward to the books.

The first one is:

It’s a Christian Writers theological and philosophical look at writing, creating, and what is required of us as writers who happen to be Christian. Don’t get all long faced on me now, it’s not a pill, it’s a treasure. You see it’s not really  by Leland Ryken. It’s by  J.R.R Tolkien, Annie Dillard, George MacDonald, Dorothy Sayers, C.S. Lewis , Flannerly O Conner,  G.K. Chesterton, and Madeleine L’Engle and many others.   Ryken just compiled the text and sorted their thoughts/essays  into themes.

Uh-huh. You’re welcome.

It’s roughly 460 pages and costs between $17.98 and $24.99 depending on where you find it. You can definitely get cheaper copies used, but then they’ll likely have other people’s notes in them. Mine’s all highlighted and dog-eared and I’ve got notes in the margins.

The second book is:

I don’t care where you are in your journey as a fiction-writing  story teller, buy this book. Buy it. Don’t get it from the library, don’t borrow it from a friend invest in your craft, and buy it.  I have had so many AHA moments since I started reading this, it’s embarrassing. But, my writing’s grown. It really has. I know, because those that have read things recently, have commented on improvements.

You can pick a copy up for as little as $10.99 new (which I recommend because again, you’re going to make notes in it) but I’ve seen several copies recently on alibris for $5.99 used.

Now, it’s YOUR turn. I shared two fantastic finds out of my own hoard, how about returning the favor? C’mon Scribes, FESS. Which books have helped you grow as a writer? Why do you recommend them? Should I get them from the library, buy a copy used, or cough up the $$$ and get one new?

As always, Encourage one another!

Comments
  1. Mirriam says:

    OOOH, I’ve read the second one before, but not the first! It looks AMAZING! IT HAS LIKE ALL MY FAVORITE AUTHORS! *squeal* I’d probably get them used, though – I can’t afford them new *heheh*

Be brilliant, be peculiar, be peculiarly brilliant.

