Where In The World is the Scribe this Week?

Posted: May 13, 2012 in Inkspots, Musings
Tags: , , ,

I’ve told some of you that I’m on vacation this week. I’m actually on the road today! And very tired now that I’m at the hotel with my folks. We’ve been on the road since roughly 10:30 this morning and it’s just gone 10:30 tonight. We swept through two amazing spots on our way towards Indiana. The first was a “stretch our legs before we go mad stop” we made roughly at 12:00.  Check out the picks of the pass!

 

While it looks like a slice of roast beef or chocolate layer cake (take your pick), it’s rather massive in size. Those dots whipping by, are vehicles.

The really cool thing? Someone decided that we should be able to get up-close and personal with the cut! It was a bit of a climb, but so worth the views. It was also a bit surreal because traffic was whooshing by on the left hand side and then there was this breath-taking panorama. Go on, take a peek! This is taken from the top, looking back towards the visitors center. Look at all those lovely velvety greens. And yes, those are mountains in the back ground. No, sadly, I don’t know exactly which range they belong to. My state is blessed with more than one range traipsing through its boarders. That little white building there is a church. Doesn’t it look like a picture postcard? I do wish that the sun had been out,  it would have  been dazzling.

Here’s to the “front” again, where I’d be whizzing along in a moment or so after I climbed down and joined Mom and Dad at the van.

There’s the climb down, and the lovely, lovely mountains in the back ground.  I did rabbit myself down towards the parking-lot  and we pushed onwards to Swallow Falls. I’ll post those pictures tomorrow.  And I’ll also tell you, where in the WORLD I’ve ended up.

Encourage one another, Scribes!

Comments
  1. Kaleb says:

    Going through Ohio?

  2. Lisa Suit says:

    I grew up about 15 minutes from here! 🙂 It is pretty cool, we used to always take out of town visitors there to show them! My mom used to live in Northern VA before they put the cut in the mountain, and when she would go back to visit my Grandparents in Western PA she would have to drive over the mountain-she said it went STRAIGHT up, had a steep horseshoe curve, and then went STRAIGHT back down again, and took about an hour overall. She was so happy when they put the cut in! Hope you’re having a fabulous trip! 🙂

Be brilliant, be peculiar, be peculiarly brilliant.

