Swallow Falls

Posted: May 26, 2012 in Inkspots, Musings
Tags: , , , ,

Uh-huh, you try to say that word. That one right there.  The one that starts with a Y.  I had to go on-line and find a place to pronounce it for me. This was one of the stops along the way to see Megan in Indiana. Think of it as a way to clear the palate for what is to come. I’m still getting the paper work straightened out and I’ll have a question for you at the end, about what you’d like to see after I get the first book-post up. Anyway, onwards!

This is in the far western reaches of my state and really is worth making it an end-point destination and not a “I’m going to scream if I don’t get out of this car soon” stop that we made it.  The interesting thing was that the wood felt different than the wood around my house.  I’m used to walking in deciduous forests with the leaves that sound like  dry rain when the wind blows. There aren’t a lot of coniferous forests around my home and I was really taken aback by how different the feel as well as the sound in a coniferous forest can be. The atmosphere isn’t as close, and there’s more light. That makes sense of course, seeing as how the canopy isn’t as thick but it still gave my senses a bit of a shock. And it wasn’t as if golden light was filtering through the high spreading reach of the needle stuck branches.

It was an overcast day when we went walking here and late in the afternoon as well.  The feeling was still so much more airy and open. There were corners however where the light looked positively green due to the way the trees were standing, like this

The path was full of press down pine needles, which made for very soft walking. And beyond the pad-pad of our shoes came  a dull sound. At first I didn’t recognize what it was, unless you live near one I don’t think that you do recognize the sound and  I felt it more than heard it. It was a vibrating in the air, pressing against my chest, and rumbling along under my feet.  Then  a growing “boom” sound found my ears and alternately roared and purred depending on how I turned my head.  The sign was helpful:

We didn’t go to swallow falls, as it was the longer hike and we only had an hour to spend wandering around and stretching legs.   But Muddy Creek  actually is the larger of the two, and was quite impressive. See? Majestic, pounding surging with unfettered might as it flings itself from the precipice and plunges down, down, down in to the churning oblivion at the base of the fault line, it is a mighty water fall!  Definitely worth sliding down the pine needle and damp-earth trail to the wooden walk way with high rails to keep back even the most intrepid explorer.

What?  You don’t find that awe inspiring? You say you don’t believe me that this water fall is the one that made my chest ache with the concussion of water-hitting stone from fifty three feet up?   Skeptical aren’t you.  You’re also right.

THIS is Muddy Creek Falls:

The water falls  over shelves of stone,  almost like steps, and has this fantastic  rippled look. The thunder of the water obliterates all other sound.  I couldn’t hear the wind, or bird song, or my parents calling for me to come back up from where I’d wandered down. All that I could hear was the relentless, ceaseless, fall of the river over the stone steps. I yelled just to see if I could hear my own voice, and I couldn’t hear that either, as hard as I bellowed, there was no sound but the fall. I felt very small, and very insignificant.  Then, I saw a chipmunk, and felt a little better.  Here’s a side on shot from the bottom of the walk, looking back at the fall itself.

Utterly amazing. I definitely recommend a visit to Swallow Falls State Park. The admission was  just $5 and there’s a lot more to see than the water fall.

What about you? Do you have a state park or green place of retreat to recommend for a summer trip? Let me know in the comments.

Also, the Annotated Faerie Queen by Tolkien is the book that had received the most interest from Scribes, so that’s the one I’ll be submitting a request to post to the Lilly Library first. However, I also have  pictures of:

1.) The First Folio of Shakespeare’s collected works
2.) Copies of Ptolemies Maps from the 1200’s
3.) The First Printing of  A Study in Scarlet by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle in the Strand Magazine
4.) George Washington’s Surveys from  the 1750’s
5.) Babylonian Cuneiform Tablet from 4000 BC

After Tolkien, what would you like to see next?

Comments
  1. Megan-Marie says:

    Well, not to influence anything or anything, but those maps are worth $8 million, and Spenser was a filthy Irish murdering rat 😉 The First Folio is my pet. And even though those pictures of the cuneiform are probably blurry because my hand was trembling at holding something so old, pictures of similar tablets aren’t hard to find–George Washington’s surveys are definitely unique!

Be brilliant, be peculiar, be peculiarly brilliant.

