Risk & Reward/Crash & Burn

Posted: June 7, 2012 in Inkspots, Musings
Tags: , , ,

I’ve taken some of my own advice this week, and risked.  There was a position open at a Christian review site, and I applied for a non-paid review slot.  While I don’t know the outcome of that particular risk, I wanted to share some of my thoughts on the whole process.

When I first saw the opportunity, I was getting ready to pass it by and copy-paste the notice into the League, encouraging the young bloods in there to take a grab a the brass ring and not try at all myself.

However, I had just been to a prayer group, just had people pray for me to shake off that spirit of timidity and have more confidence.  I thought I know I could review well, I have to do this kind of thing off the cuff at work all day every day. While I’m suppose to be selling books at work, I can pick and choose which I’m going to promote. I don’t have to promote the ones I don’t like. So I’ve come up with a system where I don’t say anything about a book unless asked, and then if I say something negative about a book a customer has selected, I have a different title to offer in its place. So far, this system has worked really well.

Writing the sample reviews for the  site made me use muscles I hadn’t stretched in a while, and it’s also given me a case of the stomach-flutters.  Maybe it’s because of all the uncertainty going on in the rest of my life, maybe it’s because I really like the site and want the position, or maybe its the same feeling millions of writers have felt over thousands of years when they took the risk, launched their words into public view, and waited for the reaction.

Will my endeavor carry? Will I crash and burn?  I don’t know. I do know that while the stomach flutters aren’t exactly comfortable, one small act of risk has  given me more confidence.

I actually posted on the page of my most favorite author in all the wide worlds last night ( normally I wouldn’t do that for fear of looking a fool or  it not mattering)  and squealed like a fan girl when he replied not once, but twice to what I commented.

I know this, if I hadn’t tried for the position, I wouldn’t have risked on the page. There’s something freeing as well as frightening about risking things.

Even if I crash and burn, I know this, I’ll risk again.  What about you? Have you ever risked and miscarried?  Or risked and earned what your heart desired? Tell me in the comments below!

Comments
  1. davidrlar says:

    The only thing that’s really felt like a “risk” so far is … allowing people to see my writing. Like sending my short story to Amanda Bradburn for editing. It’s kind of scary. I know it’s sort of a requirement as a writer, but it’s still intimidating to feel like I’m throwing the work of my hands to the wolves.

    Not that Amanda is a wolf, of course 🙂

    • Good on you for taking your courage in hand, and moving your work to the next logical level! I think any time that we expose our words to someone else be they reader or (yipe!) editor there’s risk involved!

  2. Amanda says:

    Scarletdippedscribe: I think that its awesome that you’re ‘going for the brass ring’! I know that you can do it, and I’m here for encouragement anytime you need me. 🙂
    davidrlar: I’m glad you’re taking this first step in writing. I’ve barely even looked at your piece, and I already know it’s gonna be good.

    • See that David? You risked and “TWANG” straight into the gold! Fantastic!

      Amanda thanks! I’ve been rather battered this year and circling the ole’ floor drain confidence wise. So either way, no matter the outcome of this risk, I’ve all ready gained. A little if the fire’s come back. 😉

  3. Kathy Black says:

    I risked my time today in having lunch with a young author and loved him and his books. I ended up purchasing seven of his books to give to the young people in my family. He is awesome. His books are on Amazon…War with the World which helps while in the college battlefield and War with the World: The Teenage Battlefield. If you need answers to fight the battle for your faith, these books are almost as awesome as the Youth Pastor who wrote them, Pastor Stephen J. Mitchell.

Be brilliant, be peculiar, be peculiarly brilliant.

