Shepherd of the Stars, Lord of my Heart

Posted: June 20, 2012 in Inkspots
Tags: , , , ,

Image

I’ve been facing mountain this week spiritually. Really overwhelming mountains; the store where I have worked for ten years is closing the location that I’ve run, my closest and dearest friend (also a scribe of not little skill) is facing something soul-shattering in her family, and  yesterday I found out that my car needs repairs which will cost between $2,500-$2,7000.  It is so hard to keep reminding myself that Yahweh is good when circumstances call Him a liar and it is so quiet that I can hear my own heart thumping against my ribs.  Where are you Yahweh? Can’t you see how badly I am hurting? Don’t you know that your daughter is hurting, hurting, hurting? That things are coming so quickly she is punch drunk?    I am drowning in my fears, I am undone before my enemies, and I can not go on.

If you’re feeling the same as I am today, let me share the nugget that I found (He showed me of course) it’s in Isaiah 40:25-26 and I am using the ESV translation.

To whom then will you compare me,
that I should be like him? says the Holy One.
Lift up your eyes on high and see:
who created these?
He who brings out their host by number,
calling them all by name,
by the greatness of his might,
and because he is strong in power
not one is missing.

He holds the stars in place, and says to the suns “Stay” and they do. He also dwells physically with me today, tomorrow, and the day after. Since He is holding the stars in place, I am trusting Him to set my life in the right places, and provide for me.  Won’t you join me? Wait with me in eager expectation to see Him move on your behalf, as I wait for Him to move on mine.

Comments
  1. Amanda says:

    I totally understand, Scarletdippedscribe. I’ve been like that recently, too. But God showed me this in Psalms 71:5-8, 10-16 “For thou art my hope, O Lord GOD: thou art my trust from my youth. (6) By thee have I been holden up from the womb: thou art he that took me out of my mother’s bowels: my praise shall be continually of thee. (7) I am as a wonder unto many; but thou art my strong refuge. (8) Let my mouth be filled with thy praise and with thy honour all the day. (10) For mine enemies speak against me; and they that lay wait for my soul take counsel together, (11) Saying, God hath forsaken him: persecute and take him; for there is none to deliver him. (12) O God, be not far from me: O my God, make haste for my help. (13) Let them be confounded and consumed that are adversaries to my soul; let them be covered with reproach and dishonour that seek my hurt. (14) But I will hope continually, and will yet praise thee more and more. (15) My mouth shall shew forth thy righteousness and thy salvation all the day; for I know not the numbers thereof. (16) I will go in the strength of the Lord GOD: I will make mention of thy righteousness, even of thine only.”
    Whew. Look up, Look out. Press on. God’s there already.

  2. I appreciate that Amanda, it’s more confirmation of what I have been hearing. Yesterday I was thinking on

    “I lift up my eyes to the hills.
    From where does my help come?
    My help comes from the LORD,
    who made heaven and earth.” Psalm 121:1-2

    and also this

    “Listen to me, O house of Jacob,
    all the remnant of the house of Israel,
    who have been borne by me from before your birth,
    carried from the womb;
    even to your old age I am he,
    and to gray hairs I will carry you.
    I have made, and I will bear;
    I will carry and will save.”

    Isaiah 46:3-4 ESV

  3. Kathy Black says:

    Great articles. I was reading Job today and boy did he get tribulations– all because he was loving the Lord and living the good life. God allowed all the suffering and took away all his stuff to see if he would still love God. His wife didn’t do too good, but Job came through and God said…Job, I see you really loved me not for all the good things I gave you…but just me. Then God gave Job back all the stuff he took away, twice as much in fact, and I’ll bet his wife felt really bad. I am going to give the first big hug to Jesus, then to Job, when I get to heaven and thank him for helping me when things don’t go well in my life because I’ve been through a few JOB like experiences and afterwards I was way better for it in my character. But I don’t look forward to those time when they come. Bless you all with courage and strength.

  4. Megan-Marie says:

    There’s something in that, really, I mean looking at the stars or at creation in general in response to hardship and/or depression . . . My mind is kind of wandering different directions and I was just thinking about Morris’ commentary on Job; my favorite point Morris makes is that Job is not about “why” bad things happen to good Christians but rather “how,” that is, the appropriate way to respond to them–and Job’s response is always looking back at creation, at God’s glorious work.

    PS. Try Psalm 42 . . . In fact, if you would be at all interested, I have a sermon on Psalm 42 I’ve listened to just about a half a dozen times, I could send it to you. I’ve found it hugely encouraging.

    • Definitely checking out Psalm 42. And yes, I would be interested in the sermon too.

      I do love how the Lord asks Job “Can you bind the beautiful Pleiades?” I think of Him winding them twix His fingers and smiling at their loveliness.

Be brilliant, be peculiar, be peculiarly brilliant.

