Desperately Seeking Soundtracks (Movie or Game)

Posted: June 27, 2012 in Inkspots, Musings
Tags: , , , , ,

I am in desperate need of some new music to listen to while I write! Instead of going to listmania or to some other source where you are pressured to BUY music, I’m coming to my super secret alliance of fantasticsause. *Cough* That would be YOU.  I listen to soundtracks when I write, I can’t have music with lyrics  in my ears because the words will end up in my story. Weird, but true. Currently I have these albums in my playlist and love each one:

A Series of Unfortunate Events
Greatest Hits of John Williams 1969-1999 (amazing collection from all over his career)
How To Train Your Dragon
Indiana Jones  & The Kingdom of the Crystal Skull
The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe
Lord of the Rings Fellowship of the Ring
MirrorMask
Myst (Cyan company adventure game)
Princess Bride
Prince Caspian
Prince of Persia
Riven(Cyan company adventure game)
Serenity (Firefly)
Star Wars Episode 1
Star Wars Episode 2
Water Horse Legend of the Deep

So that’s what I have, and also what I recommend. Please scribes, help a writer out! Give me some recommendations to fill out my play list!

Comments
  1. Amanda says:

    I do Pandora, and I’ve found some amazing tracks on there. I’m listening to Gladiator, the Robin Hood (with Russel Crowe), Piano Guys, and Inception. ^_^

    • Oh, interesting. I hadn’t thought of Inception. I’ll have to check out Gladiator too. I don’t do internet stations because I don’t want to have to either pay for unlimited and not OWN the stuff, or have to put up with play limits or commercials. 😛

      • Amanda says:

        Yeah. Pandora does have commercials, but I love it enough to not give up on it. I just mute them. 🙂

      • Amanda says:

        Yeah. Pandora does have commercials, but I love it enough to not give up on it. I just mute them. 🙂
        Oh! And the Patriot is one of the best soundtracks ever. Just sayin’. 🙂 🙂

      • *adds patriot to list to look up at the library*

        I read an article recently that one of the three, Pandora, Spotfly, and Turnable, might be in legal trouble soon because the content is “uploaded by users” and is subject to piracy laws.

        Another reason that I stick with my own play lists.
        I buy it, I own it IT IS MY PRECIOUS 😉

  2. Megan-Marie says:

    I’ve told you before, or at least I’ve said like a million times at random intervals you must’ve been present for at least a hundred times 😀 that Episode III is the best movie soundtrack of all time.

    Right now the kick is balalaika music. Soo . . . yeah! My favorite instrumental stuff, which isn’t much, is Yanni, Star Wars, and . . . oh. That was it. Yeeaaaah . . . I’m like, if it doesn’t have words, why am I listening to it? And then I just don’t listen to anything at all. I downloaded an hour-long thunderstorm from simplynoise.com and I like that. I used to say I’d have John Williams and Yanni collaborate to write the soundtrack for my book 😉

  3. Julie D. says:

    Doctor Who, my friend. Doctor Who, any season. Some have one or two songs with lyrics, but those tend to be at the end of the cd.

  4. marvelousdiscovery says:

    Hunger Games: I love Rue’s Lullaby and Safe and Sound, Treasure Planet, Young Victoria, Titanic, Pirates of the Caribbean, Tangled, and Eragon! 😀

  5. I’m going to tell you a bunch of artists to stream from youtube. hopefully you can stream. xD
    Hans Zimmer is one of the best there is. He’s done Inception, Pirates of the Carribean, The Last Sumurai, King Arthur, a video game called Crysis 2, among hundreds more. I love his stuff! 🙂
    Mark Petrie is also epic. It’s a toss up between him and Hans for me I think.
    Sonic Symphony has some really good tracks, as does Two Steps from Hell.
    Brand X Music is a huge favorite of mine.
    Epic Score does some good songs.
    I love the Hunt for the Red October opening sequence.
    Transformers, all the movies, have great soundtracks. 🙂
    Adiomachine (artist) has a few, The Last Airbender has a few, Tron Legacy has some good ones, the Scorpion King, the Prince of Persia, Batman Begins and The Dark Knight all have some good ones. John Carter has a nice eastern feel to some of its stuff. Trying out the Avengers now.
    Avatar has a few good soundtracks.
    John Dreamer has a couple decent video game tracks.
    The Incredible Hulk has a couple good ones.
    I think I’ll leave you to sample them on youtube now. 😉

  6. davidrlar says:

    Batman Begins and the Dark Knight have very cool soundtracks, and the latter Lord of the Rings movies have excellent scores. Pirates of the Caribbean has some good songs as well, as does August Rush.

    I’m not quite a soundtrack connoisseur, but I’d feel fairly confident in saying that a good deal of Danny Elfman, Hans Zimmer, and Howard Shore soundtracks are worth checking out. My older brother (who is somewhat of a soundtrack connoisseur) says that Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith had a great score too.

    • *adds titles to list* Thanks David! I’m noticing as I talk to people Hans Zimmer and Howard Shore are repeatedly recommended. 😀 I’m all excited now, I have new music to hunt down!

  7. Amazing blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring
    writers? I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any tips? Thanks a lot!

    • I would recommend going with the free version of word press, you can always upgrade later once you have determined that you are going to stick with blogging. Word gives you the highest feed back from people visiting your blog including search-terms, which posts have the most views, where people are getting directed from to find you blog and from what countries. The free format is easy to use and very customizable with templates. Plus as you post Word gives you a count of how many entries you have, and sets goals for you to reach. When you publish a post, you are told how close you are to the goal, and also given an inspirational quote on writing from an established author. It makes blogging fun, interactive, and encourages you to continue. How that helps!

Be brilliant, be peculiar, be peculiarly brilliant.

