Table Of Food or Table of Rat Poison?

Posted: June 28, 2012 in Musings

G.K. Chesterton once said  “A good novel tells us the truth about its hero; but a bad novel tells us the truth about its author” and I agree 100% with him. I would only add this “A good novel fills us up with the truth; but a bad novel fills us up with the lies its author thinks are the truth.” I went to the library yesterday and snagged some of the trending books for Youth and Teens. I gravitate towards this genre because it’s well written and usually lacks the things that secular authors feel their work needs to make it “adult” enough (ie  gratuitous sex, language, and violence) but ideas can be even worse than those three things. There are a plethora of lies in youth fiction today. It will be interesting to see what I find in these. It’s either going to be a feast of words, or a really bad mind poisoning. I’ll let you know what I find.

Also, for anyone who picked up the fact that Brideshead Revisited is on the table, I challenge you to find it and read it. Yes, there is objectionable content in it, but it is probably the best book of its time showing the fall of man and the relentless grace of God.

This week my reading list is:

Brideshead revisited
Miss Peregrin’s Home for Peculiar Children
Kiss of Night
The Poems of Andrew Marvel

What’s yours? Any good books you’ve stumbled across this Summer? Let me know in the comments!

Comments
  1. Julie D. says:

    Miss Peregrin’s Home for Peculiar Children is brilliant! One of the few truly original YA I’ve found in ages.

  2. Of the books you’ve got up there, I’ve only read Mortal Engines (and was rather disappointed, to tell the truth.)

    This summer, I haven’t had nearly as much time for reading as I’d like, but one trilogy I really enjoyed was Scott Westerfeld’s Leviathan books. Of course, I’m biased, as I love a good steampunk yarn… 🙂

Be brilliant, be peculiar, be peculiarly brilliant.

