Writing, Announcements, & Writerly Thoughts

Posted: July 10, 2012 in Scribe Scribbles
Tags: , , , , ,

This week, Cinder  by Marissa Meyer is on my slate  for review at the christian manifesto, and my first review ever, should be published tomorrow at the site! I’m really excited, both about Cinder, and about my review being published. It’s a busy week for me this week, hardly any time for writing and I’ve got a fantastic opportunity to help my Mom who is speaking at a  church conference this Saturday. I just barely squeaked into the League to get assignments there posted (I have to take a moment to say that 1.) I so MISS my Scribes! I haven’t been as active as I usually am and I miss everyone and 2.) I am giddy with delight over the fact that while I’m not there as much, it is THRIVING. This has been my goal and secret hope forever, that if I had to step away from it, it would continue to be fantastic. AND IT IS) and now am off to the job that pays my bills.
Prayers are greatly appreciated, I am so harried this week to use  Rudyard Kipling’s words  I don’t know if  I’m “On my head, or on my painted tail”

Coriam Deo, Scribes!

P.S.

Why is it that secular fiction is so much smoother to read than “Christian” fiction? Why? WHY? Tell me in the comments, I beg of you.

Comments
  1. Kaleb says:

    I’m sure Chila Woychik could write a whole series about why secular Christian is smoother to read.

  2. davidrlar says:

    In answer to your question, there are multiple layers to the answer, I think. Sometimes I believe we try too hard to make it “Christian” fiction, that is, we focus more on making it an “appropriate” and “Christian” PRODUCT rather than focusing on first of all making a GOOD STORY (pardon my all-caps typing there). We tend to care too much how our work will be received in the Christian community, rather than first worrying about God, and also realizing that we can’t possibly please everyone.

    But that’s just one thing.

  3. H. A. Titus says:

    I don’t know…maybe. Evacuee many Christians are worried about cramming a message into their story when they should let it develop organically from the story? It’s sure annoying as all get out, though. Maybe since some of us are recognizing that, we can become authors who change it. 🙂

  4. Gee says:

    Great photo of the book, the notebook, the cup, and the table. Cozy and charming. Makes me want to read and write (but not do arithmetic).

    • Yeah I think that you should read, and write, and NOT DO ARITHMETIC. There I have written it, and in caps too.

      However, do NOT read Book of Dreams. Or anything by Bunn.

      I do think you’d like “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children” The pictures alone are worth checking the book out of the library. They are eerie without being so much so that I can’t go to sleep after reading the book

Be brilliant, be peculiar, be peculiarly brilliant.

