Coriam Deo Moments Pt 1.

Posted: July 12, 2012 in Musings, Scribe Scribbles
Tags: , , , , , ,

This is the Hebrew for Yahweh (actually the Tetragrammaton), the name of the Lord found in Genesis 2:4, and then expressly introduced to us in Exodus 3:14. This is His name. This is the name that He promises is the one that can be called on from generation to generation. This is the name that He gives Moses, the one that He gives to Moses as the pass-key to gain the Hebrew people’s trust. “Tell them I AM THAT I AM” sent you.”  Over the generations, this name of His, this personal name, was considered so holy it was never to be spoken. It was written without vowels (that’s why it’s called tetragrammation, literally ‘the four letters’) as a way to protect its holiness. So that it would never be profaned. Unfortunately, because of this caution, no one now living knows how to pronounce His name.

I cringe at that.  Stars in their places, we can’t even say His name right.  He knows my name, and also how to say it, but I can’t say His.  This is definitely a lop sided relationship. However, that doesn’t stop Him. He knew when revealed it to us, it would get lost. It would get battered, bungled, misused, turned into swear, and  misrepresented.  I still can’t quite wrap my mind around that kind of love, the kind of love that  enters into an abusive relationship (that would be being around me) and commits to it for life, and is so mighty and awesome, that it doesn’t change but instead changes and remakes me. I’m working on it though.

One of the ways that I’m working on it, is trying to live as Norman Geisler says Coriam Deo. The closest that Latin can get to English is “living before the face of God”. Think of it as living without masks, without hyperbole or  guile, being exactly who you are because you are living with recognition that Yahweh sees everything. He does anyway, but the idea here is to live as if you believed that in your heart as well as your head. For me, Coriam Deo moments are the moments when I hear Him the clearest. Even in the middle of this whirlwind of a week, I’ve heard Him whisper to my spirit three distinct times.

1.) At work when I was talking to a gentleman about the LORD calling us by name (Isaiah 41:1-3) and engraving  our names on the palms of His hands  (Isaiah 49:16) which lead to a brief chat about Samuel and what it must have sounded like when the LORD called him, by name and woke him out of a sound sleep. He laughed and shook his head and went about his shopping and I went back to dusting. No big deal. Until. Until the LORD interrupted common place.

I was ringing the gentleman out when he looked at me and said “You know, I wasn’t going to tell you this but when you started about being called by name, I knew that you would get it.” He then proceeded to tell me how he had died, as  1,000 pounds of sheet rock fell on him when he was at a mall. He told me that he had heard the LORD call his name, and welcome him to the outside of the gates of heaven. He said “I perceived that the very air I was breathing was Jesus, and it was holy, holy, holy. Better than anything ever before. And I knew that the saints I had known were queing up on the other side of the gate to welcome me home, if I stayed. Jesus told me, I had a choice. I could go, or I could stay. But in that same moment I knew too without Him having to speak it, He wanted me to come back for a reason and purpose. So I said LORD, I’ll go.”

He’s currently writing a book about his whole experience, getting the documentation from the doctors (he had to have seven different surgeries) and putting his story together. But my Coriam Deo moment came next. I felt the excitement in my own spirit and I turned to him as I finished ringing him out, and laughed, saying “Oh, oh don’t you see? You got to love HIM the way HE loves you! You chose to submit your will to HIS even as HE submitted HIS will to His Father, when He came here and rescued all of us.”  The silence that followed was a holy one. I’d nailed it in one. I knew that the Holy Spirit had given my brother-in-Christ a huge nugget to hold onto, and He had used me to do it. Why? Well because I’m a writer/reader and like a nugget hound I’ve had years of training to latch onto fantastic things in stories. This one happened to be a true-life story with a wild and amazing  supernatural thread.  He blinked several times, forcing tears back and nodded. He took my hand and shook it and thanked me, and said that he’d never gotten that but he’d felt it inside, and now he knew how to write it. I’d helped him find the words. Of course, it wasn’t me really, it was the Ruach Kaddesh that dwells with me who nudged me and him and viola, Coriam Deo moment.

What about you guys? Ever had one of those “AHA” moments? Some people call them Godwinks, others call them divine appointments, still others call them heaven touching earth. If you’ve had one, tell me! You don’t have to share if you don’t want to, just go ‘yup’ in the comments. If you haven’t had one, do you want to have one? Are you looking for one? If you are, let me know too, and I’ll pray that He open your eyes to your own Coriam Deo moments. He doesn’t just do this for me. Nope, He gives good gifts to those He loves (Matthew 7:11).

Comments
  1. CCDragonKissedFiendishRattler says:

    The first thing that comes to mind is the last night of my first Youth Camp. It’s a long story… but to sum it up quickly, after a gripping message I found myself crying, bowing on the floor with most of the other youth there, belting out the words “Here am I, all of me, take my life, it’s all for thee” with tears streaming down my face. But there have been many moments… when I shared my first poem at another youth camp (only one person knew I wrote at the time) after having been inspired to write it by the Holy Spirit, while on outreaches, while talking to friends that have had some rather large struggles, and perhaps my largest ones that came about after my own trials-by-fire. And they’re certainly the bright lights of my history that keep me strong in hard times. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    • mark rounds says:

      Hallelu Yah! These communications are the way we inspire others and encourage ourselves as David tells us to do. Shalom.

  2. Galadriel says:

    That is so absolutely cool.

Be brilliant, be peculiar, be peculiarly brilliant.

