When Saints Bring Heaven to Earth (Coriam Deo Part 2)

Posted: July 15, 2012 in Musings, Scribe Scribbles
Tags: , , , , ,

Friday, I had the delight, and the honor of being a spectator at an event where I work. I went down early (before my shift) to take pictures  for the customers and also for the store. Our Christian radio station, 95.1 SHINE FM asked His Way to help in getting the word out about the NIGHT OF JOY give away they were running.  We have had the entry boxes in the store for just about two weeks, and Friday the staff, and on-air personalities of the SHINE station, Erin Branham and Tracey Tiernan, were there to promote the give away.

They brought with them, a team of some of the brightest and kindest people I’ve met in a long time. More about the SHINE Ambassador girls, in a moment. I want to talk for just a second about Tracey Tiernan.

I listen to Tracey when I drive into work, if I have a morning shift, and she is bright and encouraging on the airwaves. She’s very  much an encourager. She and her co-hosts (who were sadly absent from the visit) Mike and Dave, make me grin more often than not.  One of the things that I really admire about that triad is how honest they seem to be with one another.  I really love how they build each other up on air one moment, and then tease one another the next.

The week before  the event I wondered when I met  Tracey, I’d find out that funny and encouraging side of her was an act.  That all the wonderful banter and fellowship she and Mike and Dave  had was nothing more than a put-on “air wave” personality thing.

To my delight, I found that the honesty I heard in her on the air, was genuine.

She took time to talk to each and every person who came up to her. She really listened. She would duck around behind displays to pray with people in a more private setting when they asked her to, and at the event Tracey Tiernan was focused solely on thanking the people who came out to see her and meeting their felt needs. A hug?

Not a problem! Tracey had enough for everyone who wanted one. And if you wanted prayer? Well she stepped away from the table and prayed. Need a laugh? She had those too, in abundance.  In fact,  there were hugs, laughter, prayer and tears all in abundance at the event.  Oh, and some silliness too. No where in Scripture are the Saints forbidden to have a sense of humor! While Tracey was the draw, she definitely wasn’t there on her lonesome! These amazing girls, had her back. They were distributing amazing food, helping people sign up for the drawing and the prize box, answering questions, taking pictures for people, and genuinely making the event a real delight.  If anyone wanted prayer and Tracey was busy, they jumped in with both feet. Sometimes these four AND Tracey ringed the person wanting prayer. It was a delight to watch.

Everyone who attended was refreshed, revived, delighted, and stuffed with Chik-fil-a goodness.  I love watching Christian be Christ to each other. We aren’t suppose to be Christ only to the lost, our brothers and sisters to be ministered to as well. This event was less about promoting a give away and more about the ecclesia  of Christ encouraging, and being encouraged. When that happens, Saints really do bring Heaven, to Earth.

When was the last time YOU saw a brother or sister in Christ bring Heaven to Earth? Encourage MY heart by telling me, in the comments.

Be brilliant, be peculiar, be peculiarly brilliant.

