Sweet Summer Treat

Posted: August 19, 2012 in Inkspots, Scribe Scribbles
Tags: , , , , , ,

This week has been really hard for a number of reasons, and those that know me best, know why.  There have been some amazing things that have happened this week too. Noah was born (congratulations Jessie! You’re a fantastic Mom) and so was Garyth (congratulations Laura and Eric, you guys are going to be fantastic parents) and those bright bits of news  kept me from  crawling under the bed and hiding out with my action figures and books.

Here’s another sweet thing that I discovered this week with Mom’s help; grilled peaches with honey-ginger cream cheese fluff.

Oh my. Normally I am a chocolate and gooey sauce dessert gal, but this is just perfect for Summer and I’m going to be craving this when we roll into November, I just know it.  To achieve this amazing treat, you have to start with some peaches. Mom scored ours from the local farmer’s market which settles  at our library on Wednesdays.

Good enough to eat on their own after a scrubbing, Mom smacked  various hands away so we’d have enough peaches to do this. They were so good, not too sweet, not too tart, and the juice ran down your chin when you bit into these beauties.

They were still a little firm when we grilled them but that kept the  finished texture from being too soppy.  The recipe (which I’ll link you to at the end) called for the peach halves to be put on tin foil and laid on a grill. We didn’t do that.  Instead we used tinfoil baking mini-pie pans but you can use any kind of foil. I do suggest you make a ‘cup’ shape with them simply because the juice does go everywhere.

See that rogue peach there in the back? The one sitting directly on the grill? Uh-huh. Wild Peach Hickok I called him (before he was et then he was just called ‘good’) because  Mom wanted to see what would happen if we really ‘grilled’ one. It’s messy. Very, very messy. The smokey flavor is much more intense with nude grilled peaches. Use the foil/ pans when you try this recipe.  Also, I like my kosher beef dogs black, thank you very much.  If you come over for hot dogs, that’s how we cook them here.  Consider yourselves warned. This only takes a few minutes (six to eight at the most) so while you are grilling your peaches (and hot dogs) you can nip back inside and start on the cheese puff stuff.

This is so good, you could eat it on its own. Cream cheese, ginger, nutmeg and other fabulous items were combined together. But wait, it’s not done yet. Plate the peaches and. . .


Plop a hearty tablespoon (or two or three)  of the cheese and ginger and nutmeg mixture onto the peach half .  Drizzle with honey. Step back and watch it disappear.


Repeat as needed throughout the rest of  the Peach season.   Now, here is the recipe, and you’re welcome. Everyone deserves something sweet in their lives this year. I say, start with dessert!

grilled peach and cheese ginger filling dessert

Comments
  1. Gee says:

    Looks good, but kind of messy. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Kathy Black says:

    This was delicious and I substituted Neufchâtel cheese which has about 1/e the calories and I used real light whipped cream (in the can–about two cups). I also added cinnamon about 1/2 teaspoon. And in the end, I used cinnamon sugar sprinkled on the top with a honey drizzle. I guess all these changes added up to a lighter version of the original recipe. I used 1/4 of the recipe on each peach because they were LARGE peaches. I think this version is delicious and a lot less calories.

  3. I made them last night and everyone inhaled them. 🙂 they were amazing! And didn’t take too long either. Thanks for sharing!

Be brilliant, be peculiar, be peculiarly brilliant.

