Writer’s Find

Posted: August 20, 2012 in Inkspots, Scribe Scribbles
Tags: , , ,

This is so cool, I thought about keeping it to myself. Immediately, I was hit with guilt. I mean you guys were so fantastic with  helping me secure my sound track CDs, I thought  If I hoard this unto myself like I want to do,  I’m no better than the Grinch (TM) and that’s not the way that I want to be.   I mean, my friend Jesse shared it with me, and she could have kept it to herself.  I definitely have to share it with you too. That’s what friends are for!

I will say that this will cost you some money, it’s not free (there’s a 14 day trial version but that’s just a tease) but at only $10.00  it’s not going to break the bank. If you’re a MAC user, you can down load it from the app store and you have unlimited use of the program, if you’re a PC user ( like myself) you are allowed to load it onto three different devices for the $10.00 fee. If you have more than that, you can buy a multi-computer licensing fee from the company that’s cheaper than it would be to keep buying the program at 3 comps for $10.

What exactly my friend Jesse discover and share with me, you ask?  This!

It’s called Ambiance and it is designed as a ‘relaxation and white noise’ program. You buy and download the program, then go to the ‘sound store’ and preview/download different sounds.  I know, it sounds as fun as having your nose hairs trimmed. But wait, there’s more!

Here’s my current collection of SOUNDS. They’re high-quality, and with 2500  to choose from  plus more being added every week or so  there’s endless possibilities. My personal favorites at the moment are ‘abandoned monastery’  and ‘desert windmill’. This next part is where things get interesting. You knew there had to be more than just sounds right?   In the ‘mix’ screen I choose which sounds I want to layer:

In this case it’s goats, horse hooves at a walk, and some lovely eastern stringed instruments. All three are played at the same time, but I control the volume of each one. That’s right.  In Ambiance, you layer the sounds like a Foley artist. Right now, I have the goats queued up quite loud, then the horse hooves, and just some faint music as the scene I’m writing  involves travelers approaching the gate of a city. This plays on an endless loop.

You read that right. I’ve created sound effects for scenes I’m writing.

Ambience doesn’t stop there. You can also drag the sounds that you’ve downloaded from your library  to a play list and the program will merge one effect into the next for a seamless,  changing loop of sound. For example, if you just want to hear horses walking, then trotting, then running, you can drag your horse hoof falls into the play list and Ambiance will play one after the other.

And yes, you can take your “mixes”(three or more layered sound effects) and drop them into the Playlist one after another to create the ULTIMATE WRITERS SOUND EFFECT  playlist.

If you click on the picture and check out the larger version, you’ll see that under two of the icons up there it says ‘mix’ and that’s because I mixed them myself.

Now, how much would you expect to pay for this sound track  wizard? $900.00?  $5000.00? Your first-born child?

Well if you were paying attention at the beginning of the post, you’ll know that the cost for this fantastic program, is just $10.00.  It’s highly addictive, incredibly flexible, and best of all, only limited by the bounds of your imagination.

Ambiance    There’s the link, Scribes. It’s a little difficult to find just ‘surfing’ for the site.

Coram Deo, Scribes!

ps. the user interface isn’t as straight forward as they lead you to believe. I had to have a Jesse help me through creating mixes and playlists the first couple of times, so if you do get it and are stuck or have questions, feel free to ask me for user tips.

Do any of you have finds you’ve been siting on? Share! Tell me in the comments what amazing writer’s aides you’ve discovered.

Comments
  1. Kathy Black says:

    Well, of course this sounds wonderful….now lets see you do a post with sound effects…so we can enjoy it.

  2. H. A. Titus says:

    Awesome! Thanks Michelle! I’m downloading this right now. 🙂 My favorite writerly find is Dropbox…for a gal who writes on multiple devices, I’ve found Dropbox to be invaluable. Plus its free online backup, which is always awesome. 🙂

  3. That looks really cool! I’d love to play around with sounds and effects for my novel… If I wasn’t dead-set on going to Ireland next spring (sooo expensive), I’d buy it right now.

    My favorite writing tool is Scrivener (here: http://www.literatureandlatte.com/scrivener.php) I love that program! I’ve written novels with it for several years now, and I keep marveling at how versatile and flexible it is. It’s great for all styles and stages of the writing process. It’s not exactly cheap, but it’s so worth every penny. (NaNoWriMo-ers can get a discount-code if they “win”)

    • I have Scrivener, I haven’t ever gotten to the point where I have completed anything with it but that’s because I found the interface counter intuitive. It made writing, for me, more difficult. I’ve kinda taken a break from it. But it looks really cool.

  4. :O my own sound effects for writing??? Any good scifi stuff in there? And do you have to be online to use it?

Be brilliant, be peculiar, be peculiarly brilliant.

