Giving Thanks from a Pit

Posted: November 22, 2012 in Inkspots, Musings
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,


I really don’t want to give thanks today.  While I’m in the minority of people, I know I’m not alone, there others in this dark place too.  I think it’s interesting to note, that giving thanks to Yahweh isn’t an option. It’s a command.  This means that my  offering of thanks can be a discipline, and not something given to Him  because I emotionally feel like it.  I don’t feel particularly grateful today; I feel numb, depressed, frightened, tired, and  sad.   My devotion this morning helped me a lot.  It pointed out that the reason that we are commanded to give thanks to the Lord, is because HE IS GOOD.

My circumstances don’t change His goodness. My feelings don’t change His goodness. My pain does not change His goodness.  Because that goodness is a part of Him, it is more fixed and more unchanging than the law of gravity.  It is sure. And because it is sure, it is also my anchor points in the storm of grief. Any sailor worth his salt will tell you that in a bad storm you need three things; strong rope, deep water, and a solid anchor that won’t lift and drag along the bottom when the seas become wild.

Psalm 107:1 is all three; my rope, my deep water, and my sure anchor.

Oh give thanks to the LORD, for he is good,
for his steadfast love endures forever!

His steadfast [firm and unwavering in purpose, loyalty, or resolve] love endures [to experience exertion, pain, or hardship without giving up] forever [at all times or on every occasion].   When I remember this, my gaze flicks up past the walls of where I am in this pit and I see Him. Just seeing Him is relief from this ‘momentary affliction’ and it gets my eyes off of what will be only for a moment, and onto the One who is eternal.

This is what I am mainly thankful for today. There are other lesser things, but this is what I cling to today.

What about you, tell me what gift from Christ you are thankful for in the comments below.

Comments
  1. Kathy Black says:

    Well said and no one could say it better. Thanks. I needed that moment so I also could absorb being thankful in ALL things.

Be brilliant, be peculiar, be peculiarly brilliant.

