Christmas Adventures (or how I became very blessed)

Posted: December 26, 2012 in Inkspots, Musings, Scribe Scribbles
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Rea

I’m sitting here, typing this post on my  BRAND NEW LAP TOP. That’s right. Let those words sink in and then maybe you can convince me I’m not dreaming.  BRAND NEW LAP TOP. He’s so knew, the keys make a really loud clicking sound was I type!  He’s so new, I keep having to peel off protective plastic from bits of him!  He’s running Windows 8 and while I’m adjusting to the new look and interface, it’s not as horrible as I was thinking it was going to be. Yes, there’s the ‘start’ screen with its apps but once you get used to navigating to the desk top, there’s not a lot of visual changes (other than where the power off command is located) to adjust to. Today, I’m spending most of the time moving files from Davin TO Rea JaHani.

Yup, I name my laptops after my protagonists. Davin is a Regent, and Rea’s his more sardonic world-wise uncle who spends the majority of Davin’s story raising and protecting him working as  his personal guard. Davin doesn’t know that Rea’s his uncle, and there’s a long and rather complicated reason as to why he doesn’t know that.  Rea’s always been a favorite, though until recently I didn’t know much about him simply because I didn’t need to know a whole lot about him. That’s changing. With all the other changes this year that have happened, I thought that it would be a good idea to switch names and start new with this  BRAND NEW LAPTOP. So yes, best present ever.  He is the best Christmas present, but not the ONLY amazing thing I’ve received this year. Check out the very close runners up for BEST CHRISTMAS PRESENT EVER, below.

From my brother, Dave, I received this  fantasticness which can not be contained! Lookit! Lookit!

Dave Game

It would be one thing if he somehow had connections to get it signed like this but the truth of the matter is he has worked on X-COM Enemy Unknown for years. I have a SIGNED COPY OF MY BROTHER’S GAME, Y’ALL.  And he didn’t sign it, he got his WHOLE team to sign it for me.  Better yet, he’s going to bring over his PS3 sometime, and I’m going to have some characters die in horrible ways as we play it together! I’m all ready aware of some of the worst deaths an X-COM can experience and am psyching myself up to be happy when they’re zombified or converted or impaled. *Sigh* It’s not going to work, I’m such a softie I’ll be really upset and want to reset every chance I get, I know.  But! I will be able to play the game he worked on making with him and that is going to be worth the price of all of those pixel people’s horrible deaths.

From Megan, I received fantasticness that’s hard to contain.  Lookit!

PosterIt’s the entire story of 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea which is the dark text you see there, and the silhouettes are of course the Nautilus and the great sea squid. There are not words for the fantasticness of this poster. Just____________. I love it so much!  If you want the fantasticness you CAN get one yourself or check out the other amazing works of art at postertext.com.

Lest you think that all I did this year at Christmas was get, get, get (though I won’t deny that did happen) I did give some too. Check back tomorrow for a look at some of the things I made, and gave away.

Until then,
Coriam Deo.

Be brilliant, be peculiar, be peculiarly brilliant.

