More Merry Making

Posted: December 29, 2012 in Gallery Post, Inkspots, Musings
Tags: , , , ,


Dove

When I’m crafting, I’m really enjoying the creative process, and thinking about the person who is going to be getting the gift, and sometimes, I’m even watching a movie or a television show I know by heart.  It makes the whole process for me, very peaceful. This year, I had to be quick as well as crafty and thinking back on the first journal I made, I believe you’ll see its influence in the others here. The third journal (one and two are in Making Merry) I made was for my sister-in-law Beth, who is also a writer. I found the C.R. Gibson journals at Tuesday Morning(TM) the week before Christmas and hers is more of a ledger size than the one I made for my friend at work. I like the smaller ones myself, because the band holds them shut and they’re perfect for tossing into a backpack or purse, meaning people get more use out of them.  But beggers can’t  be choosers at Tuesday Morning (TM)  and hers only cost me $5.99 and is made from bonded leather. Not bad, considering the regular price for on that size is $17.99. Because this year has been hard for everyone in my family, including Beth, I thought a whimsical theme with a bright play on words would suite just perfectly.  I decided to use gears and birds to give it a ‘clockwork fantasy’ feel and I think it came out rather well. She certainly was delighted on Christmas day. Take a peek.

Beth Best
The mixed up letter types looked so good on the first, I figured they’d work here too, and they do. Writers are always cobbling together bits and pieces of things to make books, and with them being all different kinds it was all right if the letters were slightly wonky. Adds to the over all feel of whimsy.  Next time one of your crafting projects suffers a misalignment just tell the recipient that you were going for a ‘touch of whimsy’ which hides a multitude of mistakes.

Now this last one, I didn’t  buy, I sort of kidnapped it, and altered it the Saturday before Christmas.  Mom got this journal from Pastors Annette and Robert Stagmer as a Christmas present, and while she loved it, I thought it looked a little plain. It was the same dimensions as the blue one above, only pink. Pink, a blank. The funny thing about it was what I selected to put on the cover, she’d been studying all week. I’d say that’s confirmation that was where she needed to be, wouldn’t you?  It’s a paraphrase from part of  Revelation 12:11.  I was afraid at first that letters being as they were looked a little less formal and a little more ransom-note but Mom really likes it, and that’s all that matters.

Mom Best
Tada. And that’s all the journal altering I did this year for Christmas. But four  was enough, most definitely. Now, time to restock ideas, and my altered gear and see what else I can make and pass along.

What projects do you have planned craft wise for the new year? Any resolutions to try something new or expand on your own skills? Let me know in the comments below!

Coriam Deo Scribes

Comments
  1. CCDragonKissedFiendishRattler says:

    Well, I made a bunch of scarves for some Burmese refugees in my area for Christmas. I’m trying to get into my crochet again, after 2 years of inability due to a bad kitchen accident. It’s a lot harder now, and I’m having to relearn how to handle my crochet hook in a way that’s easier on my hands. So, that’s my big project. Getting my consistency back with a different style. 🙂

    • Well yes. Your digit had a death wish, that’s what that was. I need to remember to poke around your etsy shop and decide on colors and the whatnot 😉

      • CCDragonKissedFiendishRattler says:

        Haha either that, or Judas figured out how to become a butchers knife. 😉

      • I wouldn’t put it past him? xD

      • CCDragonKissedFiendishRattler says:

        I wouldn’t either. He’s like Melgred… but worse ._.

      • Well, he’s ingenious, patient, can shape shift, and he has a loooong memory. So basically every kitchen accident you’ve ever had? Yeah. Him.

      • CCDragonKissedFiendishRattler says:

        Yep. Gold sauce bucket falling from the sky? Judas. Pot and Pan avalanche? Judas. Knife getting caught in coworker’s hoodie and flung at me, nearly impaling my stomach (had it not been for the ideal placement of that trash can…)? Judas. Knife literally jumping towards me without any cause? Judas.

      • SUDDENLY A KNIFE . .. Judas. Look you NAMED him Judas O-O do you REAALLY expect anything less after how you have treated him? HM?

      • CCDragonKissedFiendishRattler says:

        Actually, his mom named him Judas. She was a lover of literature, but hated how a name whose Greek origins mean “praised” could have come to be so despised. So she named him Judas hoping to break that pattern… and to this day it haunts him that he let her down so terribly.

      • Well, he could NOT LET HER DOWN, and cease from his attempted murder spree against you O:) and redeem the name.

      • CCDragonKissedFiendishRattler says:

        But he wont let me!! D: He’s mad at me for writing it, but he wont let me change it! ._.

      • xD then you are DOOMED to his attempted murder attempts in the kitchen. O_o maybe we should take up a collection to get you a flack jacket

      • CCDragonKissedFiendishRattler says:

        That would be nice. That would be *very* nice. xD He’s just a bitter, conflicted, broken soul with a double personality. I don’t know why I ever decided to write something so hideous. Even if it was more *him* popping in on me unannounced, then taking over and telling me who he was. O_o I didn’t even know about his multiple personalities until after finishing the first book in that series.

      • Judas would like to clarify that he doesn’t have multiple personalities, it’s called Dissociative Identity Disorder.

        ._.

        Why is he here? And why is he asking me to remind you of this? I have ENOUGH trouble here, thanks.

      • CCDragonKissedFiendishRattler says:

        xD Trust me, you do not want to get involved with him. NOT. He *will* find something to hate you for. And then… *gulp*…. bad things happen ._.

      • O_O he’s eating my pepperment patties. He needs to go home. He’s also apparently browsing knife sets on the Home Shopping Network.

      • CCDragonKissedFiendishRattler says:

        NONONONONONONONONO

      • Yeah. ..and he’s got SOMEONE’s creditcard. He’s on hold right now. O_O Apparently there’s a wait to order the Ginsu ‘never dull’ knife set he wants

      • CCDragonKissedFiendishRattler says:

        CUT THE PHONE LINES. O______O He’s already kidnapped me once. Ben and Jesse saved me. But they’re busy planning a raid tonight. HELP!

      • It’s too late! He’s reading the numbers to someone! X___X and his order has been confirmed. Now, he’s going to take a nap. RUN. RUN WHILE YOU CAN.

      • CCDragonKissedFiendishRattler says:

        *throws random clothes, pen and notebook into bag, whips on jacket, flies to car and burns rubber*

      • Might want to enroll in a ‘writer fleeing hostile character’ protection program too. You know, just write greeting card sentiments for a while. . .O:)

      • CCDragonKissedFiendishRattler says:

        *sigh* Why must fate taunt me so? 😦

      • Dunno, but you really, really REALLY made Judas angry? xD Maybe give him a side story with a happy ending?

      • CCDragonKissedFiendishRattler says:

        You have no idea. ._. And trust me, I tried! So many times! But he always ruins it! I gave him a wonderful mother figure, an awesome girlfriend, a kid that was like a little brother to him… but every time, he finds some way to ruin it!! It’s not my fault! xD

      • Possibly just ducttape him to a wall and let his girl friend bring in a piece of cake and feed it to him while his little brother-figure sings happy birthday and then his Mom can kiss him on the cheek? xD

      • CCDragonKissedFiendishRattler says:

        Not possible anymore o.o But it’s a good idea otherwise! xD

Be brilliant, be peculiar, be peculiarly brilliant.

