Now that I’m an adult, I’ve learned to fear dragons

Posted: June 24, 2014 in Musings
Tags: , , , ,

autumn_dragon_by_sandara-d4vz4mp

 

My friend and I were texting, and she said something that made us both laugh and then, in that next breath,  made my heart ache with its savage truth.  Our conversation was running something like this:

HER: “I don’t see  [writing  group]  listed on their site, maybe it’s invitation only.”

ME: “You a grown up now,  you could call and  ask a librarian. They they aren’t dragons, they aren’t going to eat you.”

HER:  ” I’m pretty sure they are dragons.  You know when I was a kid, I wasn’t afraid of dragons. Now that I’m an adult I’ve learned to fear them.”

The truth of her observation cuts like razors.  Kids are fearless, trusting, wonder-holders, and bold enough to stare down Wyrms. But as we get older, life introduce rejection, falseness, betrayal, and heartache. We all learn to fear the dragons.  We lose the ability to stare into the eyes of a great beast, of someone different,  and see a potential friend.

 
It’s wounding that she’s right,  but I’m not going to stay  bleeding on the sidelines. I”m going to work on not assuming every last one I meet wants to eat me. I’m going to capture back the wonder I had as a kid, and with God’s help, I’m going to unlearn this fear  dragons.

Dragon image taken from Sandara’s gallery at deviant art. Click the dragon to go see her full range of work!

Comments
  1. Lisa Suit says:

    This cut straight to my heart! Thank you.

  2. Gee says:

    Recently, some of your esteemed aunts and uncles spoke of this same issue. Uncle Phil’s approach was to discriminate. Only a few, he understood, were worthy of his friendship, and he selected his friends carefully, on the basis of not what they said, but what they did. Aunt Rheba’s solution is to accept people as they are, appreciating their good qualities. Uncle Gary’s approach: a wooden stake; if that fails, decapitation. The point that you and your friend raise is one that challenges all and suggests one of the reasons, perhaps, that, in the literature of fantasy, as in life, there are dragons.

    • Most definitely, here, there be dragons. What struck me to the quick, is that I have begun to assume (there’s something I definitely shouldn’t do) that everyone new I meet, is a dragon. And they very well might be.

      But some are dragons like Falcor the Luck Dragon from the Neverending story, and some are likely dragons that think I taste good with ketchup. I’m just going to try and not assume right from the start, everyone is the latter.

Be brilliant, be peculiar, be peculiarly brilliant.

